Spending and Saving

When I was growing up in Clinton, South Carolina, my family did not have a lot of money. Daddy was a bread salesman. Mother clerked downtown part-time. Although we had little, my brother and I were properly dressed and pushed socially. I grew up thinking that the ultimate goal was not to have money but to save money. I began a savings program as soon as I started to work. Back then, there was something called lay-away–anyone could put money down on an item and pay it off over a period of time. I bought a Remington typewriter on the lay-away plan and had to wait a year before I was able to take the typewriter home. As I have grown to adulthood, I have continued to worry about money and have feared that I was not saving enough. In that mode, luxuries were absolutely precluded, and the idea of spending just for the fun  of it appeared absolutely taboo. Because I had saved all of my life, my children seemed to think that I had money buried in the backyard. What I have learned at age 76 is that I have saved enough to live a normal life, pay my bills, put food on my table and take some of the trips I have dreamed of that I always thought I did not have enough money to take. My future plans are to return to Athens, Greece, in August. While there, I am going with my partner to Helsinki, Finland, for a week. We also hope to visit at least two Greek islands during that trip–Tinos island and Skopelos. Life is so good since I realized that saving is good but spending and enjoying what you have saved is the ultimate goal.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

