No, We Can’t

I have been a supporter of Barack Obama since I first heard his speech to the democratic convention years ago. I contributed to his campaigns (my first contributions ever to a political candidate), I read both of his books, and I have voted for him twice. I dreamed of his being remembered as the 21st century Abraham Lincoln. For certain, he will be celebrated in history as the first black president, but I had hoped his legacy would be even bigger. I am disappointed, not in the man, but in the political system that has hamstrung him so many times. I sincerely believe that much of the opposition to this man has come from the deep racism that still permeates our society. I will also admit that I was very much a supporter of Jimmy Carter. I believed in Carter’s goodness (still do), but he was not an effective president. Although he prayed, he frequently stewed and seemed indecisive. I learned then that a good man will not necessarily make a good President of the United States. Without an effective and cooperative legislative body, the country cannot operate efficiently and honorably. No, Barack Obama could not achieve all the goals he saw for this country without some cooperation from both political parties. I pray that history will recognize what this president did accomplish and not what he didn’t accomplish.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

