The Meek and the Hopeful

There are two words in the Bible that caused me concern as a youth–the word “meek” and the word “hope.” I grew up with the admonition from my parents that I must be a “man.” I took that to mean I must be strong and masculine. I knew the biblical teaching to turn the other cheek, but my parents had also told me to fight back if I were bullied. Why then did Jesus in the Beatitudes give his blessing to the “meek?” In Matthew 5:5, it is written, “Blessed are the meek for they shall inherit the earth.” When I questioned my teacher, I was told that the word “meek” in the Bible means harnessed strength, the strength a father displays when he is holding a tiny baby. “Hope” also gave me concern as I used to hope that, when my mother had gone shopping, she would come home with something she had bought for me. I knew that hope in that case was very iffy. My teacher explained hope in the Bible as confident expectation. Both definitions satisfied my curiosity and caused me to understand the “peace that passes understanding.”

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

