No Place in the Sun

One of the earliest photographs I have of myself was taken in my backyard. I am posing like a muscle man, but the main purpose of the photo was to show off my suntan. If I had a fixation in my teen years, it was for lying in the sun in order to cultivate a dark suntan. I think it was almost an obsession which lasted even past my teen years. I used sun block sparingly and spent as many hours in the sun as possible. About twenty-five years ago, I began to have problems with skin cancers. At that time, most of them were basal cells and rather easy to remove with little pain or anxiety. Recently, I have been diagnosed with melanoma twice and definitely have anxiety about this variety of skin cancer as it can be very serious. I must attribute my skin cancers directly to my sun worshipping. Nowadays, I spend little to no time in the sun and, when the activity requires that I be in the sun, you’d better believe I’m wearing a cap and coated with sun screen. Although I don’t have a beautiful tan, I celebrate life as a pale senior.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

