A Florida Trip

I live in one of the primary destination cities in Florida: St. Petersburg. I have lived here since the mid-1960’s and have never tired of my adopted town nor have I gotten tired of it. This morning, after my gym class, I rode out with my partner to Ft. De Soto Beach, which is on the southern tip of the Pinellas County. The beach was awesome–white sand and deep blue water. Waves were minimal, as usual, and the sky azure. My partner swam; I sat in the shade along the shore, letting the beauty of the scene memorize itself. As I watched the beachgoers head for the water, I thought about where they had come from and how long they had perhaps saved up to make a trip to Florida and the beach. Although I had driven only a few miles, I appreciated the fact that I am here where others from far away want to be. After soaking in the beauty and the sunshine, I drove for fifteen minutes to my home, glad that I had taken the time to once again enjoy the beautiful Florida west coast on the Gulf of Mexico.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Florida Trip

  1. Tom says:

    Sometimes we forget how close we are to ” paradise ” !

Leave a Reply

