Jennifer’s Directions

In this day of GPS, supposedly we should never get lost. Right? Wrong. I have given my GPS the name Jennifer, only because the voice is female. Jennifer is usually quite dependable, but sometimes she leads me down a road I don’t want to use. Because Jennifer is not totally dependable (after all, Jennifer is ten years old, and she has not been updated), I almost always check with Mapquest as well before setting out. Recently, I made a trip to visit friends in Orlando. From St. Petersburg, that meant getting on I-275, picking up I-4 in Tampa, taking the first Disney exit which goes to Celebration and picking up I-417 which goes all the way to Orlando. Well, Jennifer got the first part correct until I made the turn-off at Disney. Somehow she lead me astray there, and I did not pick up I-417. Knowing that Jennifer self-corrects, I disregarded her “make a U-turn” and kept going straight. After stopping at a dozen or so traffic lights, I finally did as Jennifer suggested, turned left and immediately saw I-417 listed in the directions. I arrived at my friends’ house but about 45 minutes later than planned.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

