The Bear

I don’t know how long it’s been, but I’m sure I’ve been meeting friends at the Golden Bear on Starkey Road for years. “The Bear” isn’t anything fancy, but sometimes it’s difficult getting seating, and we frequently feel that we are over-staying if it is crowded to the point of people waiting for an available booth. I remember that the first time I went there I had agreed to meet a mutual friend, Dan Lawrence. I had known Dan and his wife Glenda when they were members of the same church where I was the choir director. They had later moved from the neighborhood and changed churches. This was a reunion meeting for us, and it was most enjoyable. When we finished our breakfasts, I said, “Let’s do this again.” He replied, “Yes, let’s. Would you mind if Glenda came also next time?” Since then, Dan, Glenda and I have had many, many delightful, delicious meals there. Recently, since my partner arrived from Greece, it has become a foursome, and the breakfast, even better.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Bear

  1. Dan says:

    Sometime we even invite other friends, unless they are in California. Always enjoyable. #1 OE DW grits!

Leave a Reply

