Anniversary Adversity

On our one year anniversary, my partner and I decided to use a $20.00 gift certificate at the Longhorn Steak House to celebrate. I had passed the restaurant many times so knew exactly where it was. Prior to our going out for the celebratory dinner, we had to pick up a friend at Tampa International Airport. When we took him home, he invited us in for a drink (I didn’t drink knowing I would have a glass of wine at dinner). That put us a little later than we had planned for going out to dinner. Still it was before 7:00, and I knew where the restaurant was. That’s why I became confused when I drove to the place where I remembered seeing the restaurant but instead found a TGI Friday restaurant. Rethinking my directions, I convinced myself that I might have seen the restaurant on the other side of town so drove to that area. Still no Longhorn. At that point, the hour was getting late, and my stomach was growling. Frustrated, we drove home and checked the address of Longhorn. “Location Closed,” I read. There are no Longhorn Steak Houses left in St. Petersburg. The nearest one is twelve miles away in Largo. My partner suggested we go another night, but I was determined we were going to celebrate on the 15th of April, and we did. The steaks were delicious as was the single glass of Riesling wine. Determination paid off.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

