Where Have You Been?

I can remember as a youth dreaming of travel. I read about many exotic places but never believed that I would actually visit some of them. I guess I had a “bucket list” at an early age. One place I dreamed of was New York City. It seemed to be within my potential reach, especially when I joined the Navy and planned to see the world. By that time, I had already been to the Big Apple. Surprisingly, I was not assigned to any shipboard duty while in the service, but I did visit Mexico and Puerto Rico by plane. After my four-year stint in the Navy, I settled down as a married man without doing any but local travel. After retiring from the public school system, I found my travel wings and traveled to Victoria, British Columbia one Christmas; to Finland, Russia, and the Scandinavian countries with friends; to Austria and Italy. Then I took a cruise around the Mediterranean starting and ending in Rome and experienced a wonderful trip to Athens, Greece, with side trips to many of the Greek islands and to Istanbul, Turkey. Lately, I have returned to Greece and made a side trip to Dubai, the most exciting place I think I have ever visited. Where have you been? Travel is not only exciting but educational. Check with your favorite airlines or travel agent and go somewhere.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Where Have You Been?

  1. Tom says:

    World travel is great if you can afford it! Some of us are not as wealthy as others……..just saying.

Leave a Reply

