The Birds and the Fish

When Dimitris, my Greek partner, first visited me in October, 2013, he knew nothing about baseball. When I asked him what he knew, he said that it was a game where someone tried to hit a ball with a stick. Right away, I introduced him via TV to the Tampa Bay Rays, my favorite baseball team, our home team. Before long,he said he would like to attend a real live professional baseball game. In the meantime, we watched many games together, and he caught on quickly, at least until it came to things like stealing bases or double plays. When I told him he must be a Rays fan, he protested a bit. He had a good friend with whom he had gone to high school who now lives in Toronto. He had visited his friend prior to meeting me and had promised allegiance to the Toronto Blue Jays. Dimitris, who is now back here and living with me, went with me two weeks ago to our first professional baseball game together. Guess who was playing–the Blue Jays and the Rays. And guess who won–not the Rays..

Blue Jays th

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

