Hot Tomato

One of my favorite pastimes is growing things. My friends tease me about how many times I check to see if something I have planted has grown or even has come up. A week ago, I planted some zinnias, one of the easiest flowers to cultivate. I am already checking to see if those seeds have begun to germinate and rise up. So far, no plants. My favorite plant to grow is a tomato plant. They do not produce very quickly, but the process of watching them grow, spread, and finally produce fruit is an awesome experience. Tomatoes are not without enemies. They are bothered by aphids, nematodes, and the weather. However, the process of planting them (or buying them while they are small) and watching them produce beautiful fruit is worth the effort. It takes a “farmer” who is dedicated to watering and pruning the growing plant and then, finally, pulling the fruit off the vine and serving it at one’s table. Wow! Just call me Farmer Thom.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

