Perks

I don’t know about you, but I think most everybody loves perks. When I was teaching high school, the only perk connected with my teaching job was the satisfaction of seeing students learning and getting excited about their education. Although I had heard a friend of mine brag about Winn-Dixie’s fuel perks offer, I pretty much chose to ignore it, thinking that it probably didn’t amount to much. The last time I shopped at Winn-Dixie, I was given a scratch card. I never win anything with these kinds of give-aways but surprisingly this time I did win–.05 cents per gallon off gas at a Shell station. When I checked on my fuel perks balance, I learned that, with the .05 I had just won, I had .40 cents per gallon owing to me. Wow! Regular gas is presently $3.45 cents per gallon. That meant that I could get a tank of gas at $3.00 per gallon, which I did. The main reason I had not been using the gas perks was that I have a Sam’s Club card and had been buying my gas from that station, thinking that it was discounted already. Not so true as the gas at Sam’s was $3.44 per gallon on the same day I cashed in my .45 cent per gallon discount at Shell. If you shop at Winn-Dixie regularly, you might want to check it out.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

