Mysterious Disappearances

As I write these words, the world is amazed that Malaysian Airlines flight 370 is still missing. Searches have found no trace. Experts are unable to explain why the transponders ceased working. The families are distraught because of the unknown. This situation is of world-wide concern. I, on the other hand, had a disappearance this morning. I uncapped the lid on one of my many thumb drives that plug into the USB ports on my computer. Because the cover is small and because I am prone to losing things, I always place the cover in a particular place on my desk. For some reason, I didn’t do that this morning. Instead, I uncapped the thumb drive and immediately began plugging it into the USB port. As soon as I began, I knew that I had lost the cover and that its recovery would be elusive. There is no comparison of my “mysterious disppearance” with that of the Malaysian flight but, at that time, I was just as mystified. The major difference in my mind was the field of possibilities. With the cover, the area where it could have been placed was minimal. With the Malaysian flight, the search is continuing to be expanded. A few minutes ago, I opened the top drawer of my computer desk, and there was the little orange cap, hiding diligently among the colorful items in that drawer. Probably the discovery of flight 370 will seem just as obvious when it happens.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

