Doughnut Seeds

Growing up, I was a dedicated fan of Kellogg’s Corn Flakes. If I didnt’ have an egg and bacon breakfast, usually prepared by my mother, I had a bowl of Corn Flakes. I never tired of it. I looked for the gimmicks inside the box. I saved the box tops so I could order magic rings, etc. Even when I was in the Navy, I frequently picked up a box of Corn Flakes from the chow line. However, when Frosted Flakes entered the scene, I began to opt for them instead of the to-be-sweetened Corn Flakes. I gradually became accustomed to the sweet taste and, since they were made by the same company, I didn’t feel as though my loyalty had been compromised. However, for the last couple of years, I have betrayed the Kellogg’s company and have been purchasing from General Mills. The reason: Honey Nut Cheerios. I don’t remember how I was first indoctrinated into this breakfast cereal, but whatever the draw, it was compelling. I now watch for the coupons for this cereal and wish, like my assistant pastor who told the story, that Cheerios were really doughnut seeds and planted would bear doughnuts.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

