Putting my Ducts in a Row

I have a decision to make: do I or do I not need a new air conditioner? The one I have is probably at least twelve years old, and the fellow who came to do routine maintenance on it said that it may not last through the summer as the head pressure is now 250 with the compressor amperage at 10.9, whatever that means. When the house was built, I opted to have an extension of my living room in order to have room for my grand piano. The additional living room space came from using the space that would have been a garage. I opted for a car port in the rear of my house in place of the garage that would have been in the front. I love the larger living room but have had trouble heating and cooling it as the house was not provided with ducts pointing to that area that would have been garage. My maintenance guy suggested that I replace the air conditioning unit and have the old ducts re-sealed while adding a new duct aimed at the neglected living room area. The cost: nearly $5000.00. Of course he threw in another couple of incentives: a 12 year warranty, financing with no interest if paid off in one year and a UV purification system. Weighing the pros and cons, I’m leaning toward hanging onto the present system for one more year. My electric bill does not indicate that I’m in trouble yet. Reader, I’ll let you know.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

