Foe-bias

https://bobosbest.wordpress.com
I consider myself a very calm and collected 75-year-old who doesn’t obsess over many situations. I dislike conspiracy theories, love romantic stories, and can cry easily at tender things. However, I do have some “foes” that interfere with my otherwise calm and collected psyche. I dislike clowns, balloons, mimes, and circuses (including “circuses” like Cirq du Soleil). I’m sure the clowns and balloons relate back to something that happened in my childhood, but the circus thing is a mystery. In live circuses, I always wish that there were only one ring–not three. I don’t want to be distracted from one by another. It frustrates me and prevents my enjoying the show. Regarding the many and varied “Cirqs,” they are surreal to me and frightening. I can’t imagine going and enjoying myself as I feel as though they are almost nightmarish. Surely there are others who share what I call my “foe-bias.” I’m also not much of a fan of science fiction which plays right into the same areas of disquiet. Give me a good Broadway show like “South Pacific” but don’t make me go to Cirq du Soleil although I will admit that I enjoy the background music.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Foe-bias

  1. Hey Bob,
    I’m afraid that I’m one of those science fiction lovers. It stems from my childhood: Dr. Who and Flash Gordon! I also like “new” ciruses but I really dislike clowns too. They look so awful and disturbing!

Leave a Reply

