Neighborliness

I have lived in the same neighborhood since 1989. I moved in as a single man and have, for the most part, lived here singly. My neighbor on the west side of my house was an elderly lady whom I knew by the name of Virginia. Although we both reached out to each other several times, we never got to know each other well before she moved into a nursing home. She once confessed to me that she wished that she had bought my property. Behind me lived a wonderful older couple–Gordon and Mary Jane. Gordon would come over occasionally, especially after Mary Jane was diagnosed with Parkinson’s. They are both now gone. My recent neighbors who have moved directly across the street are a gay couple–Ted and Steve. I was slow getting to know them, but they have become as neighborly as anyone could possibly be. Ted loves to cook and frequently shares his culinary creations which are always delicious. Steve is a Greek American and the delivery man of the partnership. I’m so grateful to have them as my neighbors. It reminds me of the neighborhood in which I grew up in Clinton, South Carolina, when neighbors knew neighbors and frequently offered a helping hand. Thanks, Ted and Steve, for the recent vegetable lasagna. Yes, you are welcome to use my dryer while yours is on the fritz.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Neighborliness

  1. Tom says:

    Yes Ted and Steve, the lasagna was wonderful!

Leave a Reply

