My Lying Thermostat

I have had my air conditioning system for years, and I have bragged over the years about the thermostat. When I set my thermostat at 80 degrees in the summer, it never veers from that temperature. In the winter, when I set it at 70 degrees, it stays on 70 degrees. What a wonderful instrument that is so accurate. One of my Christmas gifts this year was an Oregon wireless weather station. Not only does it measure the indoor/outdoor temperatures, but it measures rainfall and empties itself. I love this machine, and during the one or two times that it has rained since I received it, I have sat watching the rainfall indicator rise. However, if there is one thing the weather station has done, it is to undermine my confidence in the thermostat in the hall which, when it reads 70 degrees, contradicts what the weather stations indicates by as much as two degrees. And all this time I thought I had a thermostat that remained rigidly on the temperature at which I set it. I have been deceived (smile).

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

