The Ultimate Goal

My friend Dimitris who works a postal express job tells me of the tenseness surrounding the unrealistic deadlines associated with his job. He also has some situations at home that contribute to his tensions. I have been advising him just to relax, get the stressful matters off his mind, and thereby keep his blood pressure down. What I am realizing is that when I was working full-time (I sometimes had as many as three jobs in order to support my family financially), I too experienced those pressured feelings. Why don’t I have them now? I’m retired and have been since 1994. My life is largely uncomplicated. Not only do I not work (except for occasional jobs as a substitute teacher at the college and as organist/pianist at my church), but I live alone and stress only about what I’m going to eat and what I will wear each day. No wonder I’m not stressed out. I guess the object of this “lesson” is that the goal of retirement is a valuable goal. Hopefully your retirement will be under better circumstances than mine was in 1994 when I had been diagnosed with prostate cancer. That prompted my retirement followed by, thank goodness, my recovery. Life can be stressful, especially when you are working in a job that exerts pressure on you.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Ultimate Goal

  1. arcadian48 says:

    I haven’t been at this retirement thing nearly as long as you have, but I feel such contentment most of the time. I’m glad you’ve been able to enjoy yours for so long, and hope for many more years of it, especially if/when Dimitris is finally here.

Leave a Reply

