In the Good Old “Summertime”

On December 21st, we experienced winter solstice. Therefore, we in the northern hemisphere are presently in the winter season. That’s strange as the temperature one morning recently here in St. Petersburg was 70 degrees, and the high today will be close to the 80’s. Hallelujah! Unlike the frigid north, we are in the tropical south enjoying a warmth that would be more typical of late spring or early summer. Do we gloat? A little maybe. Are we grateful–a lot. Wearing a short-sleeve shirt on December 26th feels mighty good. Santa found his way regardless of the absence of snow, and the magic of the Christmas season still abounded. The neighborhoods sparkle with Christmas decorations, many winter scenes, but the temperature remains in the most tolerable range. I know there are those of you who envy our warmth, and I surely don’t blame you. I am not cold weather tolerant. I spent one winter in Great Lakes, Illinois, when I was in the Navy, and I made a vow then, like Scarlett O’Hara in “Gone With The Wind, : “As God is my witness, I’ll never be this cold again.” Now you know why I headed to Florida as soon as I was discharged from the U. S. Navy. I love it here.

lg_7day

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.