The Tragedy of the Blanket

On this Christmas Eve, 2013, there will be no chestnuts roasting on an open fire. Too warm for that here in St. Petersburg. Instead, I will volunteer as usual at the library. When I come home, I will thank God for my health, for my family, for my friends, and for Dimitris. I will pray that this Christmas Eve and Christmas Day will be the last that he and I spend apart from each other. We will Skype and wish each other a merry Christmas, longing for the time we will be together again in January. This time last year, I had just returned from a cruise to the Panama Canal. I had spent a wonderful day in the park with my daughter, Robin, and granddaughter, Gracey. When they left to return to their home in Ft. Myers Beach, I learned that Gracey had left her precious blanket in the park. By the time, I was alerted about this “catastrophe,” the park had closed for the night. It took a relative who had worked at the park to go there the next morning to retrieve the lost blanket. Then there was the problem of getting it back to Ft. Myers. After they left, I learned that I had pneumonia so I was no help. Therefore my daughter drove all the way back up here (125 miles) to retrieve the blanket so that Gracey would have a merry Christmas.

merryc1

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.