Giving Less But More

I did not write the following. My brother, Jackie, did. This excerpt is from his book, Back to the Garden:

“My brother taught me a good lesson about giving with a story he told me last week. He told me about a woman named Bea who was forever giving to him. Bea cleaned houses for a living and, after my brother got divorced, he hired Bea to clean his house. Not only did she do a good job with his house, she was also became a good friend to him. After a few years, Bea had to quit working for him due to diabetes and severe kidney problems, including dialysis three times a week. Still she always contacted him for his birthday and for Christmas. At that time, she would go to lunch with him and give him his gift. At first, it was a ten-dollar bill and later it became a five. He always insisted that she shouldn’t give him a gift, but she just kept on giving. He would try to find some special gift for her, but felt he always came up short. Nothing could match her gift, which came from the heart. Bea didn’t have much money. She made do on what she had, but she certainly didn’t have extra to give as gifts. but she did. Last week, Tommy told me Bea had died. Her daughter had called him with the news. She said her mother had considered him a dear friend. Tommy hadn’t seen her on his birthday in March. She was too sick at that time, but he had seen her at Christmas. They had gone to lunch and she had given him a crisp five-dollar bill as his gift. He had given her a gift certificate for groceries. Tommy told me that since Bea’s death he had figured out why he never was able to match or exceed her gifts to him. “She always gave the widow’s mite,” he said, and that was the truth.”

BackToTheGardenCover

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.