A Thief in the Doctor’s Office

I am a man who does not sit patiently, especially when waiting in a physician’s office for a prolonged time. Such a wait occurred in 2007 just after my knee replacement surgery. I was told that the doctor was dealing with an emergency and therefore would be late, a justification I took seriously. However, I didn’t realize it was going to lead me to a life of crime. Since I had no idea I was going to be waiting such a long time, I had not brought a book with me. The TV offered only token relief. The only thing I saw that I might be able to find reading material in were some magazines that are found mostly in doctors’ offices that are aimed at women. So I opened a copy of Good Housekeeping and began to thumb through. I saw all kinds of articles about women and plenty of recipes. Now, I’m not a cook, and I certainly don’t write down recipes but, if there’s anything I enjoy, it’s good chicken. There in front of me was this delicious sounding recipe for French’s Crunchy Onion Chicken. Glancing around the room, I observed that everyone appeared to be busy watching TV or reading so I surreptitiously tore the page from the magazine, systematically folded it up and replaced the magazine where I had found it. I took the purloined recipe home with me and made the most delicious dish I have ever made. Not true. I still have the recipe, but I have never made it and probably never will. I imagine it would be very tasty. I’m just not a cook.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.