Broccoli and Green Beans

When I was a young man, I was so finicky about food. I didn’t want anything to touch on my plate. I didn’t want anything on my hotdog–just the dog and the bun. I learned to eat spaghetti by holding my nose. I was terrible. When my children were little, I was determined that I would not allow them to pick and choose which foods they liked and disliked without a good reason. As I grew older, more foods became tasty in my mind. I remember the first pizza I ever ate. A friend bought it for me and said, “Don’t worry, if you don’t like it, I’ll finish it.” I didn’t like it, at least not enough to finish it. However, I could hardly wait to try pizza again, and during my college years it became my favorite meal. It seemed to me that every “fancy” meal I ever had was served with green beans. I could not bear the taste of green beans and embarrassed myself and others by leaving them on my plate uneaten. Certainly I could never enjoy something as weird-looking as broccoli. Well, guess what. I now love broccoli (probably my favorite vegetable), and I very much enjoy green beans. I don’t mind different foods touching. I enjoy eating. My waist shows that I have improved, even perhaps too much. Still, I’m glad I enjoy food and eat reasonably, counting on my diet for good health.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.