My Never-green Tree

Years ago, I fell in love with a fake Christmas tree with LED lighting. It isn’t as tall as I would like (it fits on top of my grand piano), but when lit, it is awesome. In fact, it was so awesome that, after Christmas, I could not bear taking it down and folding it up, so it stayed–one year, two years, three years–and then it came down. I was teased about my “eternal” Christmas tree and decided it had served its purpose by keeping me inspired throughout the years. Of course, I started thinking about this tree now that the Christmas season is upon us so out it came from the closet in my workroom, and once again it is atop the piano to shine throughout this 2013 Christmas season. It isn’t a magnificent tree, but it serves the purpose for me in this small house where I live. The first to see my re-installed tree will be two couples coming over for dinner out and  a movie afterwards. Not only have I brought the tree out, I have also placed the red wreath that I also bought years ago on the front door, welcoming visitors to my home. The final touch will be turning on two candles, one in each of the front windows to the house, candles that I use throughout the year to signal to pizza deliverers that this is the place they’re looking for. I love Christmas. I also love multitask items.

tree

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.