A Thief in the Night

I’m usually bragging about doing without my cell phone that “lives” in my car. Well, this time that’s not the case at all as I was depending on having a cell phone with me on Thanksgiving Day when I drove to Orlando to spend Thanksgiving with friends. However, the day before, when I entered my car, expecting to drive to the gym for my Wednesday workout, I found my car with items inside strewn from one end to the other. It had been ransacked. Gone were my cell phone and a $20.00 bill. It could have been so much worse as I frequently leave my wallet in the seat divider and then forget that I left it there so that it stays overnight in my car. The thief had opened every compartment, including the trunk, but had left my bowling ball and bowling bag as well as my prescription sunglasses. Because I knew I needed a cell phone for this trip, I immediately notified the police and called Tracfone, my carrier. Tracfone deactivated the old phone, activated my new phone, which I bought at Walmart, and allowed me to retain my old phone number as well as my saved minutes. I hate to think that someone violated my automobile, but I’m grateful that they did not benefit more from my carelessness.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

