I’m All Thumbs

Well, what it looks like and what it frequently isn’t may be different from what we think it is. I’m referring to thumbs, the part of our hands that separates us from most other primates. However, I’m not writing about that thumb but the “thumb” that plugs into a USB port and becomes remote storage. Little by little–or big by big–these items have become holders for larger and larger storage. And handy–well, they just couldn’t be much handier. They slip into a pocket, into a purse, into a plastic bag (for travel) or most anywhere you trust them to be while you transport them. I have one thumb drive with all of the information I could possibly need to survive that I carry with me everywhere. Once I was traveling home after visiting a friend in a county north of my home when the car began to sputter and barely got me into the parking lot of a restaurant. The restaurant owner suggested a repair shop nearby that would come and tow me in, which it did. When I got to the shop, I was told that the car would not be ready for a couple of days. What was I to do? I asked the shop owner if I could use his computer, which I plugged my thumb drive into, retrieved the phone number of a close friend who lived within driving distance, who picked me up and drove me home. Other friends returned me to the shop two days later to retrieve my car. Thank you, inventor of thumb drives.

thumb drive

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I’m All Thumbs

  1. arcadian48 says:

    excellent story, Thom.

Leave a Reply

