Rose’s Five and Ten

I was born in 1938 so I spent my teenage years in the 50’s. Recently, I was chatting with a friend who was talking about someone who had bought his reading glasses at a Dollar Store. What memories that brought back to me as I remembered that Uncle Frank, Aunt Myrtle’s husband, always bought his glasses at Rose’s Five and Ten in my hometown, Clinton, South Carolina. “Five and ten.” Now that’s a term that is “gone with the wind” if ever there was one. I remember as a child loving to wander through Rose’s Five and Ten, looking at items I wanted and being fascinated especially with those that I couldn’t afford as the most I ever had with me was a quarter. No television then, only radio. Not even direct dial, which came later when I was in college. As the “Archie Bunker Show” proclaimed, “those were the days.” Well, today I do love the Dollar Stores, the 21st century replacement for the old Five and Ten’s. I go there for shampoo, for greeting cards, for cheap Halloween candy, but not for my reading glasses.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

