Joshua

After having the movie, “Joshua,” recommended to me by several friends, I finally checked it out. “Joshua” stars Tony Goldwyn as Joshua and F. Murray Abraham as the fundamentalist priest. Knowing that those who recommended it to me were Christian people, I figured this movie must be religious, and it is. In fact, it is a modern-day parable of Christ. What is amazing about this film, based on a book my Joseph F. Girzone, is that, in the wrong hands, it could have been preachy and over the top. However, while making the case that Joshua in the movie is the Christ, it does so in a slow and deliberate manner allowing the viewer sufficient time to prepare for Joshua, the nice neighbor, to become the Christ. There are hints of the parallel connection, such as Joshua living in a barn where it doesn’t rain, his being a wood-carver, his helping rebuild a church, and so on. Eventually he even performs a miracle but with little fanfare and certainly no boasting. As I viewed the film, I found myself ¬†hoping that my image of Christ is closer to the Joshua in this film than it is to the Christ found in churches who is almost unapproachable. Thank you, filmmakers, for taking a beautiful religious story and presenting it simply with no beams of light or orchestral cadenzas–just piano and occasionally strings.
Joshua

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

