A Silver Sneakers Angel named Angie

After my knee replacement surgery in 2007, I decided I’d better take up exercising at a gym, something I had never done before. My Humana health insurance company cooperated by adding gym memberships for free as part of my coverage. After physical therapy (at $25 co-pay three times a week), I joined the Life Styles gym and, after three hours with a trainer, decided I could do the exercises myself without supervision. That regimen worked for a short time, but eventually I realized I needed oversight so I joined Silver Sneakers, an exercise group for people over 55 years of age. Silver Sneakers became my life saver as it provided me with a good workout without injuring myself. Over the years that I have been attending Silver Sneakers classes, the trainers have changed many times. Before the Life Styles gym was bought out and closed, Angie Beaver became a trainer in our Silver Sneakers class. With the closing of the gym, we class members struggled to find a gym where we could continue our Silver Sneakers exercises, and Angie directed us to the Fit For Life gym in St. Pete Beach. It is there that some of the “old” group now attend Silver Sneakers classes with Angie. Angie is tough. She doesn’t allow slacking although she assures us that the main reason for exercising is having fun and just moving about. If we want to sit, she says sit, but do the exercises regardless. She has received her AFAA (Aerobics and Fitness Association of America) and Silver Sneakers certification and could probably get a higher paying job, which I hope she doesn’t do for, in our class, she is an angel named Angie. I thank God for her cheerful face and training methods every week.

Angie

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Silver Sneakers Angel named Angie

  1. arcadian48 says:

    Since I no longer have the church job income, I finally had to admit that I could no longer afford my hot yoga class. It was very tough telling the young couple who run the studio that I wouldn’t be back. They are such great people. But, it had to be done. And now I will go back to MY Silver Sneakers gym up here in Clearwater. Free is the operative word. Plus, I will be resuming my regular walking routine, including walks at Clearwater Beach, which I do love.

Leave a Reply

