King of Peace

I attend a unique church, a church that is radically diverse in its worship and membership. It is sometimes referred to as the “gay church.” The denomination, Metropolitan Community Churches, was founded in California years ago and is now serving LGBT communities all over the globe. The pastor of my church is a woman who has a woman partner. The services are exciting, upbeat with an emphasis on Christ’s admonition to go into the world and tell the “good news.” I’m sure some wonder what in the world a church like this one can accomplish other than making gay people feel better. That’s not the main goal at all. This church is as alive as any other church and more alive than many in the world of Protestant and Catholic churches. I love my church as I had nearly given up on membership in a worshiping community. I was raised Southern Baptist and was taught that I was an abomination. I was leery of King of Peace when I first started attending and feared someone would see me enter its doors. Not now. I love the people, the pastor, the worship services, and the awesome music. Recently, a group in the church sang “In The Sweet By and By.” The group consisted of a harmonica player, a banjo player, an accordion player, and a vocalist. The banjo player was a man with a blond wig, wearing a skirt. When the group finished their presentation, the congregation applauded. As I said, we are radically diverse. Praise God! Check out my church by going to http://www.churchstpetersburg.org.

MCC2clogotransp[1]

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

