Discredited

I am going to return to Athens, Greece, for a visit with my friend Dimitris in January. I decided not to wait until the last minute to make the reservation in order to lock in on what I think is a reasonable fare. Therefore, I went to the Expedia site where I had seen the dates and airlines I wished to use and began filling out the paperwork. I would be traveling as a senior and using my US Airlines frequent flyer card to build up miles. I would be flying on Swiss Air, Aegean Airlines, and United Airlines. Everything went fine until I entered the data on my Discover credit card and received a message that the reservation could not be completed because of the card. “Use another card or contact your credit card company.” I then called Discover and was told that my account was certainly in order and that there was no reason Expedia should not accept it. I then called Expedia and got “Joseph” in God-knows-where who did his best to explain to me that it was only Aegean Airlines that was not accepting my card. That made no sense as I had just flown Aegean two months ago using my Discover card for the payment. It seemed illogical that Expedia was going to parcel out my credit card information to each of the three airlines for certification. Wasn’t the card payment going solely to Expedia? I did not win the argument and made my reservation with another agency.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Discredited

  1. arcadian48 says:

    Obviously the NSA is involved here somewhere. It must have been those Vietnam War protests you were involved in.

Leave a Reply

