Standing on My Hope Knee

In 2007, I had my right knee replaced. I did so only after the pain became increasingly acute and after several shots of cortisone. Today, that knee holds me up rather well. It’s now the other knee that has become the problem. My left knee does not have all of the symptoms that lead to my having the right knee replaced. It has only recently begun to hurt whereas the right knee used to hurt even when I lay down to sleep at night. The left knee is a trick knee so that I can’t depend on its being there when I stand up. I have a knee brace which I bought after the first operation, and I will begin to use it now on the left knee, hoping I can delay a replacement as long as possible. Living alone is a big challenge after you have had a surgery. I’m hoping that, since the knee has not yet required a cortisone shot, that it is going to continue to support me. I haven’t yet given up bowling nor have I stopped going to the gym classes three times a week. God willing, I will be walking on my own for a long time yet.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Standing on My Hope Knee

  1. arcadian48 says:

    If you come to the point of surgery down the road, and Dimitris for some reason is not here yet, you have a Clearwater friend available with lots of time on his retired hands…

  2. Tom says:

    Re: Arcadian……same here.

Leave a Reply

