It’s Greek to Me

When I made a trip to Greece in early September, I took with me my iPod and was able to communicate “timidly” using it. The keyboard on that little electronic device is a challenge to me though I have seen young people typing 98 words per minute with their thumbs only. I was certainly grateful to have e-mail access through this instrument but longed to be able to sit down in front of a normal sized keyboard and type “up a storm.” When my host agreed to allow me to use his laptop while he was at work, I gladly accepted his offer. I learned that he had two places where he used the laptop: either sitting on his bed or kneeling in front of it on the floor. Neither stance allowed me the freedom with which I was accustomed so I moved a chair over to a table in the living room, placed the laptop on the table and proceeded to embark on my e-mail endeavor. First problem: what is REPLY in Greek? The commands on the keyboard, although the keyboard itself had normal keyboard letters, were in Greek. What is DELETE in Greek? What is SAVE and SAVE-AS? I had no idea and feared I would hit the wrong command and send any messages I might type into outer space. Frustrated by my own ignorance, I delayed using the laptop until I could receive Greek instructions from my host when he came home from work.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It’s Greek to Me

  1. arcadian48 says:

    Everyone knows the USA is “We’re #1, We’re #1!!!” So, all keyboards should be required to be in English regardless of which country you’re in. It’s the right thing to do… 🙂

Leave a Reply

