Trick or Threat

In 2007, I had to have my right knee replaced. It had begun to hurt even when I was just lying in bed. My doctor advised that I take a cortisone shot, which I did, and it alleviated the pain for a while. I ended up taking three of those shots. The last one didn’t seem to affect the pain at all so I agreed to have a knee replacement for my right knee. My recovery was a comedy of errors brought on through no one person’s fault but nevertheless, less than what it should have been for me to recover easily. My return to health was very slow with the knee only gradually accepting my weight and feeling normal. A year ago, I was in Taco Bell awaiting my order. When the employee announced my name, I stood up and immediately began to topple. The pain was excruciating in my left leg. A man standing next to me caught me and eased me back to the table. When I sat down, the pain abated, but when I tried to stand up, it returned. Another gentleman let me lean on his shoulder in order to get me to my car. Since then, the main trouble has shifted to my left knee that has become a “trick” knee. If I don’t get up to stand with the right pressure, it sometimes is just not there, and I have fallen. A week ago, after going to the bathroom, I stood and once again felt the pain that I had felt in Taco Bell. However, this time, the pain eased quickly, and I went about getting dressed. The next morning, when I did the same thing, I stood but found no left knee to hold me, and I fell. Again, I got myself up, moved the leg up and down, and the knee locked into place. This left knee is so different in symptoms compared to my right knee which is now much more dependable than the left. Most of the time my left knee treats me well, but when it’s TRICKY, it threatens to cause me to fall. I have learned to exert some pressure before I stand, hoping to receive some advanced notice that the support is not there.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

