A Doctoral Change of Heart

When I was younger, I was a sun worshipper. I felt that getting a tan was one of my supreme goals in the summertime. That desire for tanning was enhanced when I entered the US Navy and was stationed in Pensacola, Florida, where the sun shines all day every day–well, almost. After all, Florida is the Sunshine State. Every chance I had, I was in the sun. As I grew older, I began to pay the price for the damage done to my skin by all of those ultraviolet rays–I began to develop skin cancers–basal cells, the removable kind. It was not until a few weeks ago that I was diagnosed for the first time with a melanoma that had to be removed. I scheduled the appointment while my friend Dimitris was here so that he could help me clean and dress the wound which was in the middle of my back. When I showed up for the surgery, the nurse informed me that the doctor was only going to examine me and that the surgery would be done a week later. When I protested (nicely), the doctor asked me, “Do you live by yourself?” I explained that I do but that my friend was here visiting from Greece and had agreed to help me take care of this wound after the surgery and that he would be leaving in five days. The doctor canceled his other appointments, acceding to my requests, and removed the cancer. I am so grateful that there are still professional people who listen to situations and adjust to them in a loving and kind way.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

