O’er The Ramparts

How easily we take for granted the life we lead in this country. Although I’m not always in agreement with my government, I recognize that we have opportunities here that other countries envy. On my recent trip to Greece, I was pleased by several observations. One, despite the economic problems, I saw a people who were well-dressed with a smile on their faces. When I went into a public place, they tried to speak English with me. I reciprocated with my few basic Greek words and phrases. My Greek friend, Dimitris, whom I visited there is now here in Florida for two weeks. His English is very good. His amazement is that there are so many American flags flying, not only on government buildings but on businesses and even on the lawns of private homes. Once were driving through a residential neighborhood when he asked me to stop. He wanted to photograph a large tree draped in Spanish moss, I thought. I was wrong. He was aiming his camera at the flag that was blowing in the wind. How easy it is to become inured to our surroundings and forget how important a symbol of the United States our flag is.

DSCN0457

 

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to O’er The Ramparts

  1. arcadian48 says:

    I’m really happy seeing how happy YOU are!!!
    Dimitris seems like such a great guy.

Leave a Reply

