My Children’s Inheritance

I am 75 years old. I retired from teaching in 1994 and have learned to live on two incomes–my Florida retirement and social security. Over the years, I have been good about saving what I felt I could afford to save while investing only in areas that guaranteed a safe investment return but no chance of making a fortune. My three children are all married, each has one child, and each is financially secure. I continue to support my ex-wife with alimony and a $100,000 life insurance policy for which she is the soul beneficiary. I have connected with a friend who loves to travel and has the means to do so. Next February, I will join him on a trip that will take us to Dubai for nine days. He has previously traveled to this destination so he will be both my travel companion and my guide. I’m excited and eager to see and experience more places that I have not yet seen. So long as I can meet my financial obligations at home and still have money for travel, I plan to set my sights on new horizons.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Children’s Inheritance

  1. Bill Martin says:

    Ah, those nasty homophones. I guess that happens when we write what we speak. The life insurance policy may have some benefit for Helen’s “soul,” but she being the “sole” beneficiary will be a greater benefit. 🙂

Leave a Reply

