Silent Words

I love languages. That’s why I am an English teacher. Because of my fascination with languages, I took two years of Latin, four years of French and one year of German. All of these endeavors widened my language horizons, but I became a conversational speaker in none of them. Therefore when I came in contact with people who were deaf and communicating by using sign language, I sought information regarding how to enroll in sign language classes so that I could satisfy my desire to “speak” a “foreign” language. I discovered night classes that were being taught at a local high school and signed up. My first two semesters went fairly well–mostly memorization. Semester number three was more challenging as we had to make presentations utilizing what we had learned. My biggest challenge then was that I had no one with whom I could practice my new language other than those in class. Through perseverance, I managed to stay afloat through the fourth semester when my teacher was deaf. I was always asking, “What did she say?” That brought an end to my dream of a career on a cruise ship as a sign language interpreter.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

