Please, Let Me Sleep

When I traveled recently, I traveled with a rather small piece of luggage and almost had to sit on it to get it to closed. I’m not a great judge of how much of each item I should bring with me as I don’t do that much traveling. However, when I arrived at the airport in Charlotte in the late afternoon, having flown all the way from Athens, Greece, via Frankfurt, Germany, and found that that little piece of luggage was not among the other pieces, I panicked. Why me? I had gone through customs, and now I was due to take my luggage through for the final check. I immediately talked with someone at the US Airways desk and was told that there was nothing that could be done until I arrived at my final destination in Tampa. That’s exactly where I headed after we landed, and I presented my luggage check receipt and was told that it appeared that my suitcase was to be coming in on a later plane and that the airline would bring it to me the next morning. I breathed a sigh of relief, the first I had breathed since I had realized the suitcase was missing in Charlotte. I therefore came home, unpacked a little and soon headed for bed, exhausted. I dropped off to sleep quickly but was awakened 45 minutes later by the telephone. I hopped out of bed, completely befuddled by the phone and sleep but managed to sleepwalk to the phone where I was told that my luggage was to be delivered later that night. Did I mind them leaving it on the porch with a note agreeing that that arrangement was all right? I agreed, put a large box on the porch by the sign so that the luggage would at least be somewhat camouflaged, and went back to bed. At midnight, I awoke and checked on the luggage–no luggage; at 2:00 AM, I checked again on the luggage–no luggage. I went back to sleep considering the possibility of my luggage having been dropped off at someone else’s house. At 4:45, I awoke and headed for the door once again. My luggage was there. My crisis had ended. Just let me sleep some now.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

