Wordless

Have you by any chance noticed that people are no longer talking to each other? I wonder what is going to become of the art of conversation. When I take a trip on public transportation, I always hope that I will be seated next to someone who will join me in conversation so that I can learn something new and also pass the time quickly to get where I’m going. However, in this age of electronic and mobile media, the first thing that usually happens is that they plug an earphone into each ear and from that point on you are “locked out.” Recently, when I was facing a nine-hour flight from Frankfurt, Germany, to Charlotte, NC, I was seated next to a young German woman who spoke beautiful English. For the first thirty minutes of the flight, I learned that she was going to Winston-Salem, NC, and that she would be revisiting her host family for whom she had worked in an Au Pair program. After a short hiatus in the conversation, I continued the conversation but noticed that she was not responding to an inquiry I was making regarding the duration of her stay with this family. Then I noticed her ear–it was plugged. How cut-off I felt talking to someone who could not hear me and therefore would not respond. It was a long nine-hour flight.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

