Lost in Athens

When Dimitris invited me to visit him in Athens, Greece, I jumped at the chance for an international adventure. I had made one trip to this city more than 20 years ago. Since he was going to be working, my host and friend began right away showing me how to negotiate the city alone by bus. He also arranged for me to purchase an SIM card to install in my cellphone so that I could make local calls. After arriving on Saturday, by Monday I was ready to board a tour bus and see the city. The tour on the double-decker bus was excellent. After the tour, Dimitris had taught me the landmarks to watch for in order to get off at the right stop for his flat. Stepping off the bus confidently, I found the scenery to be surprisingly different than I remembered. I was lost. I walked some, hoping to recognize a landmark but saw nothing that would help me get my bearings. Lost in Athens–my nightmare had come true . Then I remembered my borrowed cell phone purchased from OTE, the Greek phone company, the first day I had arrived, When Dimitris answered the phone at his workplace, I sighed with relief. His suggestion was that I hand the phone to the next Greek-speaking person who came along. It took three of them to guide me back to where I belonged.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

