Hoping and Spraying

When I left my home and my marriage, I did so only after many hours of prayerfully pondering the pros and cons regarding staying in a marriage that had become harmful to both me and to my wife. Although I had been faithful to my wife in that I had not been involved with anyone else outside of our marriage, I realized that I could never be the husband to her that I wanted to be and hoped to be. I therefore left my home and my family. My initial intent was to stay close and, while not living at home, to be there whenever the opportunity and willingness arose for me to return for a visit. And the invitations did come–sometimes warmly while other times, not so warm and encouraging. The thing that amazed me was that as soon as I walked into the home at 6901 South Shore Drive, S., I had a desire to urinate. Now I have been compared to a camel regarding holding water. I usually can go for hours without visiting a bathroom. However, the urge to urinate was very strong when I re-entered the place where I was accustomed to living. I couldn’t help but consider that it was possibly the instinct which causes an animal to “mark” his territory, which is what I finally decided I was doing.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hoping and Spraying

  1. My fiance and I recently moved and he expressed his need to repaint the already-fine master bedroom as “pissing on his turf.” I guess it’s hardwired:)

  2. Bill Martin says:

    I assume you did it in the toilet, not on every tree and corner of the yard! 🙂

Leave a Reply

