De-cushioning

I live and breathe sitting on my sofa in the living room. The TV is directly in front of the sofa, and there is a coffee table on which I can put my dinner and eat there while watching TV. While I’m not a big TV watcher, dinner time is a particularly good TV time for me as I am a news hound. I purchased this sofa several years ago at a local thrift store and was amazed at how perfect it was for matching other items in my living room. It had just enough blue in it to compliment everything else. However, over the period of time it has “lived” in my house, it has become soiled, soiled enough for me to know that it needed to be cleaned. My housekeeper said that steam cleaning was the best option. My friend Dimitris suggested that I unzip the covers, remove the insides, and wash the covers in the washing machine. What a wonderful idea! I started with cushion number 1. After I had unzipped the cover, I began trying to pull and push the foam out. As I did, the seams began to tear and, before I could stop, I knew that I had ruined the cushion. Since then I have been getting new advice: don’t try to take the foam out of these cushions. It doesn’t work. Besides if you can get the foam out, the covers will probably be ruined in the wash. Let this be a warning to you. Don’t let your sofa end up looking like this:

DSCN0299

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to De-cushioning

  1. Bill Martin says:

    Four remotes! You must be a “controller.” 🙂

  2. Mary Anne says:

    I don’t see one frog in the picture. (I remember visiting your house with B & P and seeing some of your collection.

Leave a Reply

