When it Rehms, It Pours

I don’t listen to the radio very much unless I’m on a trip or on my way to and from some place in town. Then, sometimes I listen to a music CD. However, if it’s a weekday morning between 10:00 and 12:00, I’m probably going to be tuned in to the Diane Rehm Show on NPR. Diane Rehm has had a throat problem which makes her sound as though she is an elderly lady. Because of that problem, she enunciates more clearly than any other interviewer I’ve ever heard. Her shows usually pursue a stated topic along with several invited guests who add to the conversation plus there are always call-in guests before the show is over. I am amazed at the skill of this lady. Her questions are unapologetic and incisive. Twice a week, I am headed to my gym classes which begin at 10:30 and end at 11:30. That means I catch Diane’s show on both sides of my drive. Not only do I get physical exercise in my Silver Sneakers classes, but I get stimulating analyses and probing by this insightful lady. She truly pours it on. Tune in sometime. I think you’ll agree with me.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to When it Rehms, It Pours

  1. Tom says:

    I listen to her whenever I can. Like you, it is usually a driving, coming or going event. She is absent from her show quite a bit, This might be due to her traveling for special appearances or she’s under the weather. I admire her determination to keep going in spite of her speech handicap. Her shows are indeed worth listening to.

Leave a Reply

