The Library and the House of Usher

Until last year, I had never volunteered anywhere. I had worked all of my life, had thought after retirement about helping in a soup kitchen, but had never put action behind my words. Then last year, I realized that I was facing the summer with far too much time on my hands. My friend Eido was going to be in Italy, and my best friends, Dan and Glenda Lawrence, were going to be in the mountains of North Carolina all summer. That was when I decided to volunteer at the public library. I had intended to do it only for the summer, but it has now been over a year, and I continue volunteering there every Tuesday and Thursday. Recently, my neighbor asked me if I would like to join him in volunteering to usher at the Freefall Theater. I had never thought of it, but it would be a good way to get to know my new neighbor better, and the play was a musical, right up my alley. We committed to four nights. I’m sure we would have been the best two ushers the Freefall had ever had if only someone had told us that the plays on Thursday nights began at 7:00 instead of 8:00. Well, we’ll be perfect next time!

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Library and the House of Usher

  1. Bill Martin says:

    What a great way to see plays! Now … let’s see if you can volunteer to be an usher at the Rays games!

Leave a Reply

