New Thom

If I must eat out, I usually bring the food home. I am not comfortable eating alone in a restaurant. In fact, I’m not very comfortable doing much of anything alone. That is a problem when you live by yourself. I recognize that others have no problem doing things such as eating out alone, and I envy them. A short time ago, I was scheduled to meet a friend at Denny’s. I had a 20% off coupon, which was the main reason we had chosen Denny’s. Kathy called about an hour before we were scheduled to meet and confessed that she had gotten sick and was heading to home and bed. My first impulse was to cancel the plans and to stay at home, watch the news on TV, and later read until bedtime. However, there is a new Thom living in this house, a Thom who is headed to Greece in less than a month who knows that he isn’t going to sit around the house while his friend in Greece is at work. He is going to get out and see Athens. This Thom opted to go on to Denny’s, to have the grilled tilapia, onion rings, and broccoli that he had on his mind, and to enjoy the outing. And that’s what Thom did. And that’s why I’m so proud of him.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to New Thom

  1. Jeri Cooper says:

    Proud of you Thom. Sometimes it makes it easier to eat alone if you bring a book or a magazine. I think it’s kind of fun to eat alone at the biggest table in the restaurant! hahaha

  2. Pamela Martin says:

    Good for you!! Jeri is right, an I Pod, a book. A magazine really helps.

  3. Stefano says:

    well done Thom,
    it is never too late!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

