The 5:00 am Rain Dance

When I got up at 5:00 one Sunday morning, I immediately headed to the bathroom. Usually the purpose of that trip is to empty my bladder. However, on that morning, my main purpose was to turn on the faucet to see if there was less pressure, meaning that my sprinklers were on as they should have been. With watering restrictions, I can only water on Sunday mornings. Since it had not rained since Thursday, I was eager to see if the sprinkler automation was working. It should be. I had paid to have it updated. IT WAS NOT. The water pressure was normal. Grabbing my flashlight, I headed for Rain Bird box on the wall in the back of the house, opened the panel, and manually started the sprinklers. They came on but with much less pressure than there should have been. Then I noticed that the clock on the timer read 3:11 pm. I was having trouble seeing so waved my hands in order to get the outside motion lights to come on. If someone had seen me wildly thrusting my hands into the air, they would thought I might be performing some early-morning dance to the rain gods. The light did not come on, and I learned later that the on/off switch in the house had accidentally been turned off. Anyhow, a call has now been made to the sprinkler company. My friend Rick’s comment: “You must have been an impressive sight at 5:05 am, waving your hands around as you danced around the lawn sprinklers.  At age 75, that could get you a neighborhood reputation!”

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

