The Principal Wants To See You (revised)

When you were in school, were you ever told to report to the principal’s office? That usually meant trouble. I remember very well once being told that the principal wanted to see me, and I was a teacher, not a student. Yes, I’ll admit that I too began to think of things I had done or had not done that could have gotten me in trouble. This summons came almost at the end of summer school at a school where I had taught several summers in a row and had dealt with my share of discipline problems. Coming into the office, I was invited to have a seat, and the principal began very seriously.
“Cooper, you’ve been working here now several years, and I’ve been watching you. You have consistently had the least number of dropouts in your classes. Why?” At least I knew then that I wasn’t in trouble.
What I told him reflected my philosophy of teaching. The purpose of summer school was to get students to pass the course. This was probably their best and last chance. I therefore worked hard to keep them in class and progressing whereas I heard many teachers in the teachers’ lounge bragging about how many students of theirs who had dropped out. Because I pretty much kept my full load, I worked hard, but the reward was seeing my students complete the course. It made for tough going as a teacher but resulted in a rewarding outcome.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Principal Wants To See You (revised)

  1. arcadian48 says:

    Wow! I guess you’re not such a bad guy after all… 🙂

Leave a Reply

