Waiting for Endorphins

About six years ago I had a knee replacement. Two years later, I had a heart attack. At age 75, I have made a commitment to go to the gym three times a week–two for classes and one for bike-riding. The classes are taught by excellent instructors, and I appreciate their expertise and certainly benefit from it. I readily admit that I don’t like to go to the gym for either the classes or the bike riding. I keep waiting for the promised endorphins to kick in, but, for me, they never do. A week or so ago, I talked myself out of going to my class on Friday and instead decided to have lunch with a friend. We went to a Salem restaurant and had two of the most delicious sandwiches I’ve ever eaten–a Philly steak sandwich and a Po Bo shrimp sandwich. Both the food and the fellowship were top-notch. The only problem was that my conscience kicked in, and I regretted that I had opted to miss my class. No problem: go to the gym and make up the time with personal exercise on Saturday. My attitude improved abruptly having made that commitment. I decided to make the trip include eating out for lunch, which I decided to do prior to my visit to the gym. When I arrived at the gym at 12:15, I found a locked door. When I checked, the gym had closed, as it does every Saturday, at 12:00 noon. Who ever heard of a gym being closed on a Saturday afternoon? Well, now I have.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Waiting for Endorphins

  1. arcadian48 says:

    I feel the same about my hot yoga. I do know the good it does for me. I’ll add you to an email I just sent out. Watch for it.

  2. Pamela Martin says:

    After just having my 70th birthday and getting up this morning with my shoulder and lower back hurting I try once again to make that commitment to do at least something in the form of exercise. I admire your commitment . I’m too easy on myself! Pam

  3. Tom says:

    You should celebrate when you go to the gym, not feel guilty when you don’t. Like dieting, when you cheat with that chocolate cupcake….don’t feel guilty, just keep on…. keeping on with the diet and don’t look back.

Leave a Reply

